My Most Noteworthy Accomplishments // Writing Prompt: Entry 3

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 9.44.05 PMThis prompt was titled “Most Prized Moments”. I don’t think this post will be very long considering the fact that I’m a teenager. I know that the intention of this prompt was most likely to list tangible awards and certificates, but there are many other important things a person can achieve in their life without necessarily getting a medal for it, and that is what I would like to demonstrate in this post. After reading this I hope you will be able to understand where my priorities lie. This list is in no particular order of importance.

The greatest accomplishments of my short life have been:

  • Becoming the President of my Class. Yes, I actually did that. And yes, it felt awesome.
  • Actually joining a sports team. I’m a runner now and I feel as if I can conquer anything. My shortness of breath holds me back from climbing Everest, but I won’t let it keep me from going on a nice, long jog.
  • Being selected for a spot in a poetry book (getting published). The book I was entered in comes out in December!
  • Making some very important friends. From people with Ivy League Acceptances to people who can pull strings all around town, to people who have been in my shoes and have all the tips and tricks for acing life—my friends can do it all and they’re willing to help me achieve too.
  • Getting Straight As all 12 quarters of Middle School. I hoped I would be able to maintain this in High School, but studying vigorously and trying my best wasn’t enough to uphold a flawless record.
  • Doing Cheer for One Year. Interestingly, I can say that I was once a Cheer Captain. Of course, this was because I did cheer in 8th Grade and so when I didn’t make it to Varsity, they made me the captain of Junior Varsity. It would’ve felt wrong if they hadn’t. I got intensely persecuted by my peers, but I really didn’t care because being on a team of people younger than me helped me to secure a lot of long-lasting friendships with some pretty adorable girls.
  • Standing up for my friend on the playground at Recess in 3rd Grade. I remember tho boys were teasing my friend about something futile. When I saw it happening I walked right up to them and told them to “leave my friend alone”. The other boys looked shocked and some of the girls clapped. I don’t remember if we had received an empowering lesson that day, but all I know is that I didn’t think twice before I left what I was doing to stand up for her.
  • Winning 3rd place team in a Debate Tournament. Now, this was absolutely not a single-handed effort—my partner did have to carry me through a round, but I am very proud to say that I have a little trophy for this. I love debating and I hope to achieve more in the future.
  • Becoming comfortable in my own skin. This doesn’t fit with the rest of the accomplishments I’ve listed, but it’s one of the biggest achievements I’ve made personally and therefore it deserves to be on this list. Without this particular accomplishment, I would not have been able to complete half of the things I’ve listed here.
  • Creating this blog. Cheesy, I know, but I did say this was a short list and I do absolutely love this blog.
One thought on “My Most Noteworthy Accomplishments // Writing Prompt: Entry 3

Leave a Reply

