I want to be a Good Writer

I have a dream and today I am proclaiming it to the world. I  want to write stories loosely based on my life. I want to watch someone pick up my novel and not be able to put it down. I want someone to write a review on my work and call it hypnotic. I want someone to go through this blog and not be able to stop reading. Maybe they’ll find me on Pinterest or on the WordPress reader—but once they start reading they can’t stop and once they close the tab on my site they re-open it a few minutes later because they have the urge to find me again. I really just want to know I’m a validated writer that people respect.
I’m taking a Creative Writing class pretty soon and maybe I’ll post some of my work on here. It’s not a very well accredited class but I love having an excuse to write fiction with minimal guidelines—and in my opinion, that’s how a true creative writing class should be. I want to write something that matters to someone. I hope that one day this blog will become popular and I will be able to have it hosted professionally and feel like I’m making a difference. I also want to mention that for now I still don’t have a muse. I find inspiration in so many writers, but I don’t want to feel as though I am copying them, or using their work as some sort of guideline. I don’t want parameters. Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 11.57.16 AM

I feel as though I cannot end this post without acknowledging the fact that I have not posted anything for a whole week. So I’ll tell you what I’ve been up to. On Sunday I was at a wedding, and from Monday to Wednesday I was in a place where I couldn’t reach my laptop. When I got home on Thursday, I was minutes from posting when my computer got taken from me. Now that I have it back I realize that I can not faithfully continue my posting schedule of one post a day, so I will be posting on Saturdays, Tuesdays and Thursdays beginning with this post.

Leave a Reply

