Why I’ve Always Wanted a Typewriter

Screen Shot 2016-07-17 at 9.48.14 PMA fun fact about me: I’ve always wanted a typewriter. Ever since I learned about what it was when I was little I wanted one. Maybe it’s just a fad to me because I’ve always had a thing for school supplies. I love going shopping in September and buying new clothes and books and pencils. That probably makes me a nerd, but I don’t care it’s who I am. In particular, I find typewriters so intriguing; just the idea of typing my words and seeing them printed in front of me physically seems so exciting. I know some of you may be thinking, why don’t you just write letters or something? Well, I don’t know, the same sense of satisfaction just isn’t there. Clicking the bulky keys and watching a letter get stamped on the page is to me as pressing a piano key is to a master pianist. The beauty of hearing or seeing your art take form is such rich pleasure that every artist should be able to experience. The solace I felt when I first got my hands on a typewriter is the same type of sheer excitement that made me do a six-month project on the instant camera so I would have an excuse to buy a Polaroid Camera. Something about older technology’s mesmerizing simplicity captivates me so thoroughly that I get inspired just thinking about using my Polaroid or a vintage Typewriter. I do not have a typewriter but my cousin used to and I’ve seen them in garage sales. They are always much too expensive and practically useless because the ink has usually run out. I dream that the day I publish a book and maybe my boyfriend, husband or mother will come up to me, kiss me on the cheek, hand it to me, and tell me “congratulations”. Or maybe one day I’ll just give in and buy one.

One thought on “Why I’ve Always Wanted a Typewriter

Leave a Reply

