Movie Review: The Secret Life of Pets

Screen Shot 2016-07-13 at 7.12.30 PM
I wasn’t expecting that the first movie I reviewed on this blog would be a PG movie, but it just so happens that on July 13th my aunt took my cousins (ages 6 and 9) and I to see this flick. I want to start by saying that prior to seeing this movie in the theatre, the only commercial I had seen for this movie was a 15 second ad that, about a moth ago, would play before every single video in my music playlist on YouTube. This means that I had little-to-no prior knowledge of the plot of this movie. When I walked in the theatre to see this movie I did not expect to enjoy the movie I was about to see as much as I did. It really made me laugh out loud a few times. I won’t go so far as to say that the movie was thrilling, frightening, or had a completely original plot, but I did thoroughly enjoy this movie. The plot was very easy to follow and young children are able to feel the fear in the more ‘dangerous’ scenes, the shock in the plot twists, and the excitement in the conclusion. My cousins had a great time and so did I. If you have a young child around who wants to see this, give in and take them! If not, please enjoy your gore, romance and obscenity—you can forget about this post. Believe me, there are much less exciting kid’s movies you could be seeing, and therefore I highly recommend this one, if you have a child around.

Leave a Reply

